A New Remix

After an unmentionably long period of work, I have finished my latest remix. It is a moderate reimagining of Sea Oleena’s “Shades of Golden.”

With this one I worked off the complete original track, isolating the vocals and other sounds I needed through EQ. It was hard! I was adding a fair amount of stuff to an already mixed, mastered, tonally balanced and maximized track, and as a result the mix often became crowded and unruly. I really had to chop certain frequencies to make things work, and I realize very clearly that I have much to learn in that arena.

The finished work can be seen as a spiritual successor to my first remix, that wild and idealistic collage of sounds I pasted around Aesop Rock’s “Super Fluke.” Why? They both contain a “suite” of three distinct arrangements surrounding three verses, and a bonus arrangement (for Aesop, the chorus, for Sea, the outro).

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I hope that you dear reader (and listener), enjoy it too.

WAV: https://clyp.it/wfiiguk3

MP3: https://clyp.it/ggjqc2mh

 

P.S. Bonus points if you recognize which band I… borrowed from during the second verse.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

