Somber City II: Finally, the Desert House

I’ve been shamefully absent from the blogosphere for several months. A lot of my unbridled optimism and defiance have been squeezed flat by a long spring/summer doldrums. But I’ll write about that later. For now…

I went to the Garfield Park Conservatory just after New Year’s 2015 with my dear friend Hammurabi. The Fern Room and the Desert House were still closed after a devastating hailstorm in 2011. When we went back in July 2015, the areas were open again, and restored to their former glory, if not improved. I took some photos with my old, shitty Pentax K110D, and surprisingly, some of them came out alright. Here they are.*

Yes, this is a photo blog entry. Get off my back – it’s the best I can do right now.

 

 

*A few of the photos are from the Lincoln Park Conservatory – a smaller but still resplendent spot next to the zoo. Also, one obviously depicts a statue of John Peter Altgeld.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

