Four Poems

.

The Next Great Work

.

The silently summoned multitude

Spangled across the plain

Motion, always motion

Antlike in their purpose

.

Bright components blaze

In splendid metallic hues

Holy print, the shadeblue writ

Hope communion, paragon

.

The shining edifice rises

As if nurtured from the soil

Pilings buried with especial care

As grandmothers laid to rest

.

The seventh day: Completion

They delight in their creation

Soft obelisk to singularity

Resplendent and impassive

.

But restless hearts churn within

Clenched jaws and burning eyes

They gather and scan the gloaming line

For the site of the next great work

.


.

Changes

.

A mango blushes slowly

In silent gradient traverse

From joyless unyielding green

To sweetest fragrant amber

.

A cloud silently perpetuates

In inchbound rolling Zen

Is it the force of imagination

That keeps it hanging together?

.

A child gradually mutates

From lumpy screeching dough

To a modern man bent double

Under the world inside his head

.


.

Will Ferrell

.

Someone made a reference

To a Will Ferrell movie

And I laughed politely

This is something

I seem to find myself

Doing often

Laughing politely

At Will Ferrell references

.

Laughing politely

But apparently not

Convincingly

Anchorman? They say

Ricky Bobby?

I actually hate Will Ferrell

But I usually play along

Just to make things easy

.


.

Ugly

.

Society makes people ugly

Who could actually be hideous

Among the cosmic bricolage

And empty void of space?

.

Society makes people ugly

It has become skilled and subtle

It rarely raises its voice

Or judges one directly

.

I am part of society

And I make people ugly

I don’t say it out loud

But it’s written across my face

.

I’m going to keep doing it

Because I don’t know how to stop

Standards aesthetics preferences

Are my measures of enforcement

I’ve thrown in with the hegemony

We are shallow but we are deep

.

.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

