Two Poems

 

 

 

Chopped

 

The three of them sit

On one long high horse

Saying unkind things

About the meal I have cooked

 

They told me this would be

A great opportunity

But it feels more like

A kangaroo court

 

I have prepared a six star meal

And I know it in my bones

Hindtaste always puts

Less acidity in the sauce

 

I have lowered my head

In bitter humility

And presented my naked

Neck to the panel

 

For my crimes against the palate

The judgment is firm

The blade swings once

And I am chopped

 

____________________________________

 

 

Armistice

 

An exquisite lilac armistice

Shunted down the forenoon path

Bright and buzzing zealot heat

The recognizance of summer

 

The traffic enforcement officer

Greeted me with a smile

She trod on down the waveformed hill

Pausing once to smell the colors

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

